Saul Williams

Radiohead has come to attention lately for their album “In Rainbows” which they had online where fans could choose how much they wanted to pay for it and download it.  Although some music critics said this may be risky, Radiohead is typically well known and Thom Yorke even commented that they made money on it.  Also, the songs they released were in mp3 format so they suffered from compression.

Saul Williams did something similiar in releasing his album “The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of NiggyTardust!”.  Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails worked with him on this album and helped finance it.   This album is available online for purchase or free.  If you decided to download it for free the songs came in 192 kbps mp3s along with album art and liner notes.  However if you decided to pay $5 for it you were able to download the album in 320 kbps mp3s and/or FLAC (which is lossless) along with the album art and liner notes. 

 I’ll admit that this album is my least favorite of his three.  I like his self-titled the most and then Amethyst Rock Star.  However NiggyTardust is available for free and it might gain him a larger listener base which I believe he deserves. 

Saul Williams

2 Responses to Saul Williams

  1. bananatree says:

    I paid for both, free is nice but I feel the need to support artists in one way or another.

  2. NINbay says:

    It was a pleasure to read this atricle.
    One of the problems I had was the hassle to find those rare items I wanted for my collection. I searched endlessly through Ebay looking at every item to see if its what I wanted. I’m sure I’m not alone & believe you encounter this too from time to time.

    I’ve come up with a site where you can find all rare NIN items on Ebay in one place! It saves many people the time & hassle of searching for hours through all the NIN items to find that rare item you need for your collection & you can find all these rare items in one site – NINbay.
    Its regularly updated & there is also a newsletter available to subscribe in the Contact section where you even get an email when the site is updated with new auctions!

    Its great even for sellers as they can advertise their auctions on the site by emailing me so that the auctions can be added & shown to a wider audience

    To see, just visit:
    http://www.ninbay.com

Leave a Reply

