The Original NES

 nintendo_nes.jpg

I was a kid of the 1980s and most of it I forgot.  This is except for one thing: Nintendo.  I can remember the day I got (Dec. 25, 1989), the first game I got besides the Mario/Duck Hunt game that came with the system (Tetris) and the first game I rented (Zelda II: The Adventure of Link).  For some odd reason I can barely remember the names of all the teachers I had from Elementary through to Grade Four but I can remember all this useless knowledge. 

I don’t really play video games that much anymore.  I own a Nintendo DS and an XBox (the original) and that’s about it.  One of the big reasons I lost interest in video games is that the controls and games have become too complicated.  That’s not to say I don’t like complicated games, I enjoy some RPGS and love Civilization.  But if I want to play a sports game I don’t have the time now to memorize 40 different button combinations; I just want to jump into the game and play.  With Nintendo games you knew what was going on right away for the most part.  With only a direction button and two buttons (minus select and start) you knew what to do after only hitting a few buttons and could jump right into the game.  Sure you can do more things in a newer game but does complexity make it better?

I was able to recognize all of the games in this video besides two or three which means my childhood was lost to Nintendo. 

One Response to The Original NES

  1. […] I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I grew up on the original NES.  I found a site the other day which claims to have ”every […]

Leave a Reply

