Blue State

blue_state_365.jpg

Last night I watched Blue State and was surprised that I enjoyed it.  The plot according to IMDB.com is “BLUE STATE is a romantic comedy about a disgruntled Democrat who actually follows through on a drunken campaign promise to move to Canada if George “Dubya” Bush gets re-elected.  Before watching the movie I saw this plot outline and I was initially turned off from it.  It seemed to me that it would be another Bush bashing movie which at this point has almost become cliched.  I don’t like the guy either, but be original with bashing him.

While the movie was a romantic comedy with the predictable ending I still liked it.  Maybe because Anna Paquin was in it?  I had a crush on her when I was nine or ten and The Piano came out.  I have no clue on why I had the crush. 

The characters move to Canada and like I somewhat eluded to before in another blog post, the Canadians in the movie act like they are better than Americans.  One of the characters mentions how all 300 million Americans are dumb because they voted for Bush.  While I realize this is a movie and stereotyping, I often hear people bashing the United States but if any criticism towards Canada is brought up they reply with the “if you don’t like it, leave” argument.  I’ll probably anger some people saying this but often times I think Canada is turning into America Junior in the sense that business interests are coming before peoples interests more and more it seems.  Maybe that’s the reason I liked Blue State.

2 Responses to Blue State

  1. bananatree says:

    I love Anna Paquin too, she’s charmingly unattractive in that “girl who is your best friend” type way. Too hot to handle, too cute to hold.

    p.s were you the one giving paul the what.cd invite?

  2. […] them.  Probably it was when I had my stupid little crush on Anna Paquin (like I wrote about here) so that was 10-11 years […]

Leave a Reply

