Oscars

oscars.jpg 

The 80th Academy Awards took place last Sunday (February 24th, 2008) and once again I did not watch them.  In all honesty, I can’t remember the last time I watched them.  Probably it was when I had my stupid little crush on Anna Paquin (like I wrote about here) so that was 10-11 years ago. 

It’s not that I don’t like movies as  I watch them quite often.  I’m not anti-Hollywood either and don’t only watch indie flicks like Gummo.  I just hate awards ceremonies.  The last awards ceremony I watched was probably the MTV Music Awards and I believe that it was 1993 as Aerosmith’s “Get a Grip” album was nominated for many awards.

For me, the Oscars are not about the films but for the people who were involved, mostly the actors and actresses, to show off how pretty they look.  It’s almost like graduating from High School:  Most people don’t give a shit about the hard work or cheating they did to graduate but rather about how pretty they look and how they are going to get shitfaced afterwards.

Also it might be because movies are so easy to watch before they even are released on DVD that part of the magic is gone.  Wired.com recently had an article about how “148 out of the 151 films selected for an Academy Award from 2003 to 2007 have cropped up online”.  

Leave a Reply

