Eddie Bravo and Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

eddie2.jpg

The past few weeks I’ve been unable to work out or practice kickboxing and brazilian jiu jitsu (bjj) due to a fun thing I ended up getting.  A few weeks ago I was “rolling” (or sparring bjj) and ended up getting a knee to the face.  A few days later I had a welt under my eye and thought it was a black eye.  No big deal.  A few days later the mark got bigger and closer to my eye and looked different from a black eye so I went to the doctor.  Ends up that I caught a staph infection near my eye.  It surprised me because I’ve heard horror stories about how they are painful but mine wasn’t.  Anyways because of that I stayed away from the gym and working out because I didn’t want to take a chance in being the guy that gives it to everyone else.

So I’ve been on some anti-biotics and the doctor told me to not work out while on them because of the side effects they can cause.  I hate sitting around at home and not being able to workout when I’m frustrated or bored.  So the past few days I’ve decided to watch and read some of the Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu instructionals I have.

Eddie Bravo is one of the guys who’s material I’ve recently been watching.  To quote Wikipedia, he is known for ” his win as a brown belt against Royler Gracie by triangle choke in the Abu Dhabi Submission Wrestling championships the year 2003, and his unique style of no-gi Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu”.  As well he is the pot head buddy of comedian Joe Rogan.  While I don’t have a problem with his pro-marijuana stance, it sometimes gets annoying when you are reading one of his books or watching one of his instructionals and he spends a decent portion of time talking about it.  It just seems out of place. 

What really impresses me about Eddie Bravo’s bjj style is how fluid he is and his crazy flexibility.  Here’s part of an instructional from a magazine featuring him that demonstrates his ingenuity and flexibility in regards to bjj:

It hurts me just to watch this.  I guess I better start stretching.  I hope he comes out with a stretching instructional.

Leave a Reply

